Institute for Geometry and its Applications, IGA, differential geometry, algebraic topology, complex geometry, noncommutative geometry, partial differential equations, index theory, geometric Langlands, quantum theory, moduli spaces, representation theory, string theory, mathematical physics, pure mathematics, adelaide

Lecture Series

School of Mathematical Sciences
ECMS Faculty Research Institutes
University of Adelaide
Interesting links

Proudly supported in 2018-2023 by:
Mathai's Australian Laureate Fellowship support grant

Postdoc opportunities in Adelaide

Scholarship opportunities
1 PhD Laureate scholarship still available
(supervised by Mathai) Open until filled

Scholarship brochure. *Please read this first*

Geometry lies at the core of modern mathematics with deep and wide implications in all other mathematical disciplines. In the last decade there has been an extraordinary confluence of ideas in mathematics and theoretical physics brought about by pioneering discoveries in geometry and analysis. Geometry pervades modern technology (medical imaging and information security being two well known examples).

A University Research Centre and the research arm of the Discipline of Pure Mathematics in the School of Mathematical Sciences, the Institute for Geometry and its Applications (IGA) was founded on the 7th of November 1996, in recognition of the strong group of researchers in geometry and its applications at Adelaide, with its inaugural director being Professor Michael Eastwood (Adelaide). The IGA organises symposia, workshops, instructional schools and regular seminars. The IGA also provides collaborative opportunities to promote research in geometry. The IGA staff are currently researching in a wide range of subjects in the area of geometry including differential, finite, complex, non-commutative and algebraic geometry together with geometric topics in mathematical physics including quantum theory, topological phases of matter, string theory; geometric analysis; index theory; K-theory; moduli spaces; category theory; information security and representation theory. The IGA has recently been recognized as being one of the University's Research Expertise and Strengths in the fundamental disciplines.

In the 2015 Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) nationwide rankings, Pure Mathematics at Adelaide received an outstanding score of 5 (out of 5), rating it well above world standard as well as (joint) top ranking in the nation. For the ERA rankings within the university, see here

2009: IGA special events
2010: IGA Special Year in Geometry and its Applications
2011: IGA special events
2012: IGA special events
2013: IGA special events
2015: IGA Special Year in Geometry and Physics
2016: IGA special events
2017: IGA special events
2018: IGA special evens

Upcoming IGA Events

Index Theory, Duality and Related Fields, June 17-21, 2019@Chern Institute of Mathematics, Tianjin, China, in honour of Mathai.

IGA/AMSI workshop, Index Theory and Related Fields, September 30 - October 4, 2019, Room 7.15, Ingkarni Wardli building

IGA/AMSI workshop. Finite Geometry: a workshop in honour of Tim Pentilla December 16-17, 2019, at The University of Adelaide.

*Cancelled* IGA Lecturer, Luis Avarez-Gaume (Director of Simons Centre for Geometry and Physics and Professor at SUNY) will be giving a mini IGA lecture series, November 14-16, 2018. *Cancelled*

IGA Lecturer, Dennis Sullivan (Einstein Professor, City University of NY and SUNY) gave an IGA distinguished lecture-series, January 15-19, 2018.

IGA/AMSI Workshop, Index theory and applications to positive scalar curvature and related areas, June 4-8, 2018.

Lecture series on Morse theory and applications by A/Prof Graeme Wilkin (NUS), July 11, 18, 25, 2018.

Recent achievements by HDR students:
Mr Ahnaf Tajwar Tahabub (Varghese, Baraglia) 2017 Silver Bragg Medal winner medal
Dr Zhenxi Huang [qualified for PhD in 2018] (Varghese, Baraglia)
Mr John McCarthy [qualified for MPhil in 2018] (Varghese, Baraglia) Currently a full PhD scholarship student at London School of Geometry and Number Theory (2018). 2018 University Master by Research Medal for outstanding research, Dean's commendation for MPhil Thesis Excellence.
Mr Michael Hallam [qualified for MPhil in 2018] (Varghese, Baraglia) 2017 B.H. Neumann Prize winner. 2018 Elsevier Young Scientist Award winner. Dean's commendation for MPhil Thesis Excellence. Currently a full PhD scholarship student at U. Oxford (2018)
Dr Hao Guo [qualified for PhD in 2018] (Varghese, Wang) 2016 B.H. Neumann Prize winner. NSF funded Visiting Assistant Professor at Texas A&M (2018-2021). Dean's commendation for Doctoral Thesis Excellence.
Dr David Bowman (Larusson, Buchdahl) Dean's commendation for Doctoral Thesis Excellence (2016)
Mr Brett Chenoweth (Larusson, Buchdahl) Dean's commendation for MPhil Thesis Excellence (2016) PhD scholarship at University of Ljubljana, Slovenia
Ms Kelli Francis-Staite (Murray, Leistner), Rhodes PhD Scholarship at Oxford University. (2015)
Mr Konrad Pilch (Varghese, Murray), PhD scholarship at CALTECH. (2015)
Mr William Crawford (Larusson, Buchdahl), University medal (MPhil) and APA for PhD at Monash University. (2015)

Recent achievements by ECRs
Dr Guo Chuan Thiang, DECRA, 2017-2019
Dr David Baraglia, DECRA, 2016-2018, DP (with Mathai) 2017-2019; continuing Lecturer of Pure Mathematics at University of Adelaide commencing mid 2019.

© 2019 Last changed 2019/03/07
Email IGA web person